Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have said for a very long time now, but appreciate it even more having gone through the cancer journey twice. That the people that are millionaires in this world, are the ones that are happy. Today we went to a show that I did not want to go to really. The leg pain was unbearable, but even so we did it. My attitude to it stank, I was a grumpy middle aged man thinking about the things I wanted to do. Not what was important for my wife to do.

  
Part way in I realised that I had worked hard to be alive and what was the point in that if I was not to enjoy the day we had together. So I physically changed what my thought pattern was, changing it to a grateful one. One that I appreciated what we saw, appreciated that Andies mum would have been with her today if I had not been there. But Norma sadly is not with us, and I am. I quickly realised that it was a privalage not a chore. But it was up to me to change my own thinking, to be grateful and to think about my Andie not the pain that I am burdened with. 

  
It was amazing, what happened moments later. We bumped into Andies Auntie who lives 50 miles from where we were in southport. It was almost like a acknowledgment that I was putting my wife first. Great isn’t it how it makes us feel to put someone else first, I am just so grateful that I was able to make this happen. Although seeing Andies auntie was awesome and it brought back lots of fond memories of her mum and dad, and other family members. I hope you have had a great weekend and hope you have a great week.

Mark

http://www.fonzandcancer.com
Follow me on Twitter
@fonzmark
Everything you read are based on my own experience and my own opinions. I express them here to encourage you. Please share with others, if it meant something to you it will to someone else.

