I have been asked to write my testimony by Bloodwise a group on face book which I am happy to do, after all it’s an excuse to do another blog, and hopefully touch and encourage more people that they can do this journey. That it’s not impossible, that hard as it may be that there is hope for anyone that has cancer to face. Having faced it twice you could say I have a rounded, and through idea of what it takes to beat cancer. The journey started about 7 years ago with feelings of lethargy and a lump in my neck, something my mum noticed at the dinner table and suggested I got checked out. At this point (knowing mum was right) I got a little scared as to what lay ahead. I knew though I had to listen to her, to get it sorted out. It was obvious that it was not an abcess as the walk in clinic had suggested. 
This lead to all the tests being done after moving home and being diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma in May 2011, treatable by surgery and chemotherapy. It was stated at diagnosis that I was at stage 4a with cure as hopeful with treatment. However I was not given long to live without treatment. 4 a is advanced and in urgent need of treatment it had to be done with out delay.

  
ABVD was started in June 2011′ going to hospital for 6 hours every 2 weeks to have the chemo put in intravenously. I am not going to tell you it was easy, far from it. You need grit and determination and a support network around you, that support net work being as important as the treatment. I never let anyone else come to hospital ever, except my wife. With hiensight maybe that was the wrong thing to do who knows. No way is right or wrong when faced with cancer, as long as you keep moving forwards. Keep strong and use your support network to offload should you need to. 

  
It’s true friends that count, and you sure find out who those people are and who are not true friends in the process. You see people that have not been there, have no idea what to say or do, so they say nothing, which of course is of no help what so ever to anyone. Chemo finished in December 2011 just before Christmas, I was on an accumulative chemo which meant I was constantly accumulating chemo in my body. Christmas 2011 was not a year I felt well at all. I did not have family visits either as the risk of infection was so great.

  
Feeling a shade better in February 2012 we bought a dog that I picked up in April calling her Faith which is what I needed to have to get over cancer. The doctors told me I was in remission, I did not believe that however. As I in no way felt it had left, I had nerve pain in my hands and legs affecting me daily. When the patient does not feel cancer free they call it (fractured remission). I had gone on a trial to help them learn medically in the future which gave me the best care available.
3 years on enjoying my dog, friends and family, I felt a lump appearing in the same place as before at my next appointment in October 2014 I told the doctor. Which lead to tests, and the lump being removed for analysis on Christmas Eve last year. It was only communicated to us in January that I had Hodgkin’s lymphoma again and would need ICE chemo leading up to a bone marrow transplant having to have 8 teeth removed on the run up to just be accepted for my transplant. Which is when I decided to write my blog. http://www.fonzandcancer.com
I started my blog as a challenge to myself to write one a day for 365 days, but ultimately to encourage anyone else suffering cancer or any other life challenge that it’s possible to beat cancer. Ok my disease was treatable but you still have to be willing to be treated. 

  
A bone marrow transplant means a hiccline being put in, and 3 weeks minimum isolation. They were very good at the hospital and although a tough journey that took me to many dark places I am still here, still writing and still positively encouraging others facing the same daily. Cancer has brought me close to death, but has also given me ne friends, a new start and a new meaning to life. We are embarking on the next steps of our journey now reaching out further to the world, but more news of that journey to follow.

  The last day of my bone marrow transplant. The next picture is how I look today.
  
Been a hell of a journey, but I survived and so can you. If you know someone fighting pass this on to them. They may be encouraged you never know. 

Fonz

http://www.fonzandcancer.com
Follow me on Twitter
@fonzmark
Everything you read are based on my own experience and my own opinions. I express them here to encourage you. Please share with others, if it meant something to you it will to someone else. It took me an hour to write, but will take you a second to share.

