Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was reading a blog today by Vera juice. She has had cancer to, I know her name but I won’t say here. As I read her words on death and how she felt whilst in hospital, watching an old lady live her last days. Reading how she felt and what she wanted to be able to do. I was taken straight back to that room, the room where I had my isolation. There were 4 isolated rooms on that ward and non of us saw each other. Only sent messages to each other via the nurses. It was pretty much stated that 1 out of the 4 in those rooms died every month. I cannot tell you the courage required just to walk through those doors knowing it could be me. Knowing you quite literally put your life on the line to get your life back.

It got me thinking reading Vera’s blog, what that lady would be remembered for. She had no visitors, surly there were people in the world that loved her. But what would she be rembered for? I don’t imagine she had a huge amount of cash next to the bed. Was she a good grandma, did she even have children of her own. What would she be remembered for? Which in turn got me thinking about what I would be remembered for, not being a good dad (I hope) because I have no children. Maybe being a good friend to others will be what I am remembered for, or helping people who are experiencing cancer is what I will be remembered for, a good brother? A good husband, I believe so. A good son, I could have been better, and believe I am better today. 
If anything is better today than it was, it’s because of cancer. It’s because having the courage to be put in a 1 in 4 situation of passing away I now have the positives in my life. In fact you are indeed reading something that maybe I will be remembered for. If your a great grandparent you will be remembered by your grandchildren, there is your legacy. In fact today one of my friends recalls through historic records that a grandfather back in the 1700’s was knighted. How wonderful that 300 yrs later we still remember this person because of the good he did. 

  
So what’s the point of this blog, what’s the 1 in 4 about. It reminded me of a lady that was in the end room, sadly she did not make it. Her last days were in that room, and it could have so easily have been me. That’s why I write, to encourage you to choose to make a differance. Someone close to me said “your blogs make you appear successful” they do I said, maybe that’s because I beat cancer. He smiled in agreement. What ever people remember about you when your no longer here, make sure is a good one, make sure they can smile at the life you lived.  But whatever you do, smile laugh remembering it’s not what u do when they are gone. It’s what you do in your life, not what you have that you will be remembered for.

Wow and I had no inspiration for this blog, thanks Vera. X

Have a great weekend

Fonz

http://www.fonzandcancer.com
Follow me on Twitter
@fonzmark
Our support group on our FB
https://m.facebook.com/groups/1595998743956536

It’s a group where people’s experiences are used to encourage others. 
Everything you read are based on my own experience and my own opinions. I express them here to encourage you. Please share with others, if it meant something to you it will to someone else. 

